Gaby Martell couldn’t eat Ben and Jerry’s ice cream without getting sick — until now.
Martell, a 19-year-old UF accounting sophomore, said dairy products make her stomach uneasy. The good news: Ben and Jerry’s recently announced a line of non-dairy, vegan-certified flavors.
Because the products are made with almond milk, Martell said she can eat ice cream without worrying about an upset stomach.
Martell said she found out about the new flavors after reading an article posted on Facebook. She said she’s excited for the Coffee Caramel Fudge flavor.
Other flavors include P.B. and Cookies, Chocolate Fudge Brownie and Chunky Monkey, according to a press release.
The ice cream will be available to Gainesville residents by the end of February, said Anna, a Publix customer care agent. She declined to provide her last name, citing company policy.
Gainesville resident Darcy Fiorello said she is a vegan and likes ice cream substituted with non-dairy ingredients.
However, she doesn’t like chocolate, and she’s allergic to peanuts. If there were more options available, Fiorello said she would be interested in trying the ice cream.
“I wish they had more basic flavors,” she said, “but I don’t think Ben and Jerry’s does simple.”